Local Government Elections 2021

Update 16th October:
๐—ช๐—ฒ๐—น๐—ฐ๐—ผ๐—บ๐—ฒ ๐˜๐—ผ ๐˜๐—ต๐—ฒ ๐—ฆ๐—ต๐—ถ๐—ฟ๐—ฒ ๐—ผ๐—ณ ๐—–๐—ฎ๐—ฝ๐—ฒ๐—น ๐—–๐—ผ๐˜‚๐—ป๐—ฐ๐—ถ๐—น
Votes have been counted in the 2021 Shire of Capel Local Government Election.
We welcome Doug Kitchen ( 2,356 ), Ashley Dillon ( 2,293 ), Christine Terrantroy ( 2,022 ) and Peter McCleery ( 2,013 )
They will serve the Capel community alongside Cr Kaara Andrew, Cr David Clews, Cr Sebastian Schiano, Cr Rosina Mogg and Cr Kieran Noonan.
The Shire joins Council in thanking retiring Councillors Michael Southwell and Murray Scott for the valuable contribution to the community and extend our best wishes to them both.
Newly elected Councillors will be officially sworn in for their four year term at a special meeting of Council on Monday 18 October at 6:00pm.
Congratulations to all candidates for putting up their hands for this important role.

Local Government Elections

Ordinary local government elections are held every two years on the third Saturday in October.

The 2021 election for the Shire of Capel will be conducted as a postal election, with a Returning Officer appointed by the WA Electoral Commission.

Four positions will be contested at the election on 16 October 2021.

The 2021 election timetable can be found at: 2021 LGE Postal timeline.pdf (elections.wa.gov.au)

Information for Candidates:

To be eligible to stand for election as a Council member you must:

  • Be 18 years of age or older;
  • Be an elector of the Shire of Capel;
  • Not be nominating as a candidate in another election; and
  • Complete the mandatory online induction course.


The 2021 nomination period for candidates opens on Thursday 2 September 2021 and closes Thursday 9 September 2021 at 4pm.

Prior to lodging your nomination with the Returning Officer, the Local Government Act 1995 requires that you complete a candidate induction. This must be completed online via the Department of Local Government, Sport and Cultural Industriesโ€™ website: Induction for prospective candidates | DLGSC

Contact the Returning Officer:

Returning Officer: Pascoe Durtanovich

Mobile: 0427 160 276

Email: LGro_cap@elections.wa.gov.au

A Candidate Information Briefing was held in the Council Chambers on 31 August 2021, with presentations from:

Further information:

Local government elections | DLGSC

Local Government Elections | Western Australian Electoral Commission


Candidate profiles:



Call for Nominationsย 

An Ordinary Postal Election will be held on Saturday, 16 October 2021 in the Shire of Capel to fill the following vacancies:

4 Councillors – 4 year term

Nominations Open on Thursday, 2 September 2021

Nominations Close at 4:00 PM Thursday, 9 September 2021

Nominations must be lodged with the Returning Officer:

  • at any time during the above period by arrangement; or
  • between 2:00pm and 4:00 PM Thursday, 9 September 2021 (close of nominations) at the Shire of Capel, Forrest Road, CAPEL.

Please see the attached document from the Western Australian Electoral Commission for full details:

Shire of Capel Call for Nominationsย