2022 Community Award Winners

2022 Community Award Winners

On January 26 we celebrated some of the hundreds of volunteers we are blessed to have in the Shire of Capel. The 2022 Community Awards were held at Boyanup Memorial Park after the annual Boyanup Lions Australia Day Breakfast.

The inspiring ceremony where we heard stories about serving our community, making small and big changes and celebrating hopeful youth for our future. There was as a breathtaking ballroom dance exhibition from 15 year olds Zeenna and Brandon, we were treated to singing by the Vocal Fusion Youth Choir and were motivated by guest speaker Catrina Luz Aniere, who is the CEO of Millennium Kids.

Collectively our volunteers devote thousands of hours of time and commitment to their roles.


We are honoured to announce the following winners in their categories:

  • Winner of Young Citizen Category for 2022 is Darcy Reid.
  • Shayne Ashe was awarded the Youth Act Belong Commit Award.


  • Winner of Community Citizen for 2022 is Ben Aldridge


  • Joint Winners of the Senior Community Citizen for 2022 are Malcolm Paine and Susanne Hunter.
  • Doreen Fennel was awarded the Senior Act Belong Commit Award.


  • Winner of Community Group for 2022 year is the Boyanup Foundation who will receive a $1000 for their group.
  • Peppermint Grove Beach Community Association were awarded the Act Belong Commit Group Award.


The Shire extends their thanks and gratitude to all our nominees and winners!